[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 136 KB, 670x893, 1318303543655.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2294449 No.2294449[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

how is literature an intellectual pursuit?
the great classics are philosophically shallow and scientifically inert.

other than subjective aesthetic value what can it offer a reader?

The problem is people can easily detect aesthetics in literature but it takes a sharp and practiced mind to detect it in nature, science, and mathematics...

Are literature/english enthusiasts just lazy or unequipped to tackle beauty that is both sublime and pragmatic?

>> No.2294456
File: 124 KB, 1219x722, science.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

beep boop study of literature illogical does not computer abort abort

>> No.2294464

But I'm a physicist.

>> No.2294466

>>2294456

thats' good point

>> No.2294471

>>2294464

your brain is warped in the same way, it is immaterial

>> No.2294477

>>2294449
>>2294471
>>2294456

so no one on lit can refute OP
k

>> No.2294486

>>2294477

nobody is going to take the time to refute the existence of sasquatch on here either

scuttle back to your bunsen burners, boy

>> No.2294499

>>2294486

oh he mad ^

>> No.2294502
File: 87 KB, 608x580, 1313519663036.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>2294456
>Wait don't go whats your favorite dorito flavor

Every time

>> No.2294507

>>2294499

i am become wrath, pipette-licker

my anger is in superheated plasma form

>> No.2294508

>>2294477
Well, OP's argument is based almost exclusively on assertions and he represents literature somewhat wrongly.

>> No.2294511

>>2294477

>so no one on lit can refute OP

It looks like you aren't as smart as you think.