[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 71 KB, 828x597, 398C5B1C-4992-4373-8EAD-2B9CDABB51B8.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
22917591 No.22917591 [Reply] [Original]

I’ve been writing a story for a couple years now. I’ve shared my ideas with some people (some even on this board) and I’ve received pretty positive feedback. I’m interested in incorporating my ideas into a actual novel, but I’m wondering what the chances are if writing a book that is actually successful? I’m not planning on living my entire life off of one book, but I’m curious as to how difficult it is to write a novel that can be somewhat profitable?

>> No.22917622

>>22917591

If you trad publish I think the definite statistic was about 4% odds of being profitable. If you self-publish it is probably less likely. And if you never write it and never put it out there it is zero.

>> No.22917626

>An estimated 9 million Americans -- or nearly 4 percent of the total population -- say they identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender, according to a new report released this week from the Williams Institute, a think-tank devoted to LGBT research at UCLA.

>> No.22917629

>>22917622