[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 1.58 MB, 1024x1024, DALL·E 2022-12-04 01.48.50 - dante and virgil descending into hell, digital art.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
21339113 No.21339113 [Reply] [Original]

Previous thread is dead and OP is nowhere to be seen. No matter, I shall take take his mantle and guide this pilgrimage like Virgil.

We read 3 cantos every day, except the first day which is 4 cantos. Today we focus on the 8th to 10th cantos but if any anon wants to join us and comment on previous cantos he is welcome to do so.

I should say that this is my first time reading Dante so I am not particularly knowledgable. If any anon has more experience with his work, he is more than welcome to share his wisdom with us.

8th canto : More obvious fanfiction by dante with one of his personal ennemies drowning in the styx and Virgil praising him. The trip to the city with the flames lighting up from afar and the many devils appearing is very kino though. Kind of feels like enrering a new dark souls area.

9th canto : Virgil speaks about the circle of Judas, I know this is supposed to be the deepest pit of hell. The Furies appear from afar in a terryfing display. Would also be very kino in a dark souls game. The people burning in their tumbs is a striking picture.

10th canto: So the Epicurians are burning huh ? I had no idea they were considered this badly by medieval christians but it makes sense. I have no idea who tf Farinata is and I am too tired to research it; Probably another italian political ennemy. Some more namedropping of ennemies burning in hell, Dante was a based /lit/ autist. The prophecy of the dude in the tumb was pretty kino. Seeing the future but forgetting the present leads, it seems.