[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 996 KB, 2052x4760, 1318097141779.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
[ERROR] No.2125313 [Reply] [Original]

I assume this would be the best place to ask.
The Bible is a book after all.

Now I just found out that the Devil, Lucifer, and Satan are in fact different entities that just get mixed together a lot.
Would anyone care to explain the differences between them?

>> No.2125328

>Now I just found out this unsubstantiated claim. Would anyone care to explain how this claim came about?

We can't help you unless you help us, op.

>> No.2125342

>>2125328
You're right. I should have said that someone put forth the notion that these are three separate entities. This is my first time hearing such an idea and would like a discussion on why someone would think this way.
I am quite ignorant on the subject but I'll start.
From what I've always thought, the Devil was just some umbrella term for all the evil in the world. Lucifer was God's favorite angel who decided to go against god and was thrown into Hell. At this point, they called him Satan now as he was no longer that Morning Star of Heaven but instead a ruler of hell.

>> No.2125351

>Lucifer
Traditionally, Lucifer (English pronunciation: /ˈluːsɪfər, ljuːsɪfər/) is a name that in English generally refers to the devil before being cast from heaven, although this is not the original meaning of the term. In Latin, from which the English word is derived, Lucifer means "light-bearer" (from the words lucem ferre). It was the name given to the dawn appearance of the planet Venus, which heralds daylight. For this meaning, English generally uses the names "Morning Star" or "Day Star", and rarely "Lucifer".

>Devil