[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 77 KB, 282x300, 1664373055701.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
21054070 No.21054070 [Reply] [Original]

When you read books in your second language, do you translate it sentence by sentence in your head or do you just read it normally as you would a book in your native language and understand what's going on? I used to do the former, but recently, I realized that I've been doing the latter for quite some time now. My target language is French and I've been studying for 6 years, if that's relevant.

>> No.21054078

>>21054070
I just read it normally. Translating sentence by sentence is okay for beginners, but to actually speak the language it's essential it becomes almost as natural as your native one.

>> No.21054136

>>21054070
I almost never translate in my head, only when I encounter new words and such.
I used to translate like that when I was learning my second language. Now studying my 4th, I sort of internalize the meaning automatically when I learn new words and phrases.

>> No.21054271

>>21054070
I read it normally.
>>21054136
>only when I encounter new words and such.
I never look up the translation of new words, I focus on the meaning.

>> No.21054378

If I start translating it back it won't make sense for a good amount of literature.