[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 41 KB, 800x424, o0960050914962012904.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
20959161 No.20959161 [Reply] [Original]

Alright /lit/ I'm an artist with very bad visualization (5% opacity) and was recommended to read fiction books to improve it.
Picked up a light novel from the bookstore and started reading it, but I can only finish around one page before I put it down and start browsing 4chan again.
It's a great book with a great story, I loved the anime, so it's not the story at issue. I just never read a book in my life so I'm having trouble reading it.
Any advice?

>> No.20959176 [DELETED] 

Don't buy into the idea that you need mental visualization for art. All of this "you need visualization to do X" just comes from people who personally have visualization and therefore assume that everyone needs it.
>Any advice?
Get off 4chan, away from the computer

>> No.20959179

Don't buy into the idea that you need mental visualization for art. All of this "you need visualization to do X" just comes from people who personally have visualization and therefore assume that everyone needs it. Difference in visualization ability only came into the public consciousness in the last 10-15 years and right away it is pathologized. It's some sick shit, appreciate your mind as it is.

>> No.20959181

>>20959161
Why even bother with art when ai is about to replace you anyway?

>> No.20959184

sorry for the double post I thought my captcha had failed

>> No.20959202

>>20959181
Not the anon but self expression is not touched by ai.

>> No.20959207

>>20959179
Oh, yeah thanks maybe you're right but I still would like to improve my visualization.
I grew up reading comics so never had the chance to build up my imagination since comics don't require it.