[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 64 KB, 800x600, 1601007788019.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
20836581 No.20836581 [Reply] [Original]

Recently I've been working on developing my own philosophical system to aid me with my life and I need some suggestions that can help me on this pursuit. I also hope that you will challenge my ideas and find inconsistencies, so that I can work on them. But before I start, let me briefly give a background about myself, so that you have some idea where I come from.

I'm 35 yo professional poker player, playing mid-high stakes online. I mainly play NL200-500 at Pokerstars and ACR. At 18 I started playing poker, quickly moved up to NL100 making around 4k-5k a month and stayed there for years. I studied poker, worked with solvers a lot and when I played my A game I was much better than my peers. However, I always had tilt issues. My A game was really good, but my B game sucked and when I was not ON I could lose 5-6 buy ins in a matter of minutes. That was the reason I couldn't move up to higher stakes. This crappy situation continued for years, even though I tried to work on it. I tried psychology books, self help books, youtube videos and even hired a mental coach... nothing changed. 2 years ago, the inevitable thing happened. Field at NL100 got stronger to the degree that I, coupled with my tilt issues, couldn't beat the field anymore and I was forced to move down to play NL50. Luckily, I came across stoic works and after reading Epictetus and Musonius I adopted some of their tenets. Namely these 3 principles:
>Don't worry about things out of your control, focus on what's in your control, mainly your own thoughts and actions
>Don't have expectations
>Imagine the worst