[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 868 KB, 200x180, 1645732397425.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
19991378 No.19991378 [Reply] [Original]

I'm a failed author with an engineering edumacayshun. I bought a printing press and one of those guillotine paper cutters and put them in so I can do trade printing and, more importantly, small-scale publishing.

I'm going to start with periodicals like Science Fiction and Fantasy but I want to make it more of a mishmash. Where's a good place to hunt for talent? Pic related, it's me in another life.

>> No.19991406

Publish me, daddy.

>> No.19991419

>>19991406
oh yeah baby

>> No.19991453

Wait are you serious? Do you actually have a printing press? What kind?

>> No.19991487
File: 79 KB, 250x187, file.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>19991453
>Wait are you serious? Do you actually have a printing press? What kind?

Yeah. Pic related. Different model than this, mine's a bit bigger. But it fits in the garage, as does the guillotine paper cutter. Next item on my buy list is one of those book sewers, where they sew books together in 16-sheet signatures. I'm going to spend on this as well because the other method of bookbinding hardbacks, gluing them, produces shittier books that don't last as long.

I am looking to do periodicals (magazines, etc), novels, comic books, TTRPG manuals (I'm a /tg/ crossposter), and art books. Maybe alt TCG shit, too, but I'm less invested in that. Interested in doing the proper publishing role, where I establish a publisher-author relationship, function as an editor, pay for people's IP, and print it.