[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 31 KB, 480x530, SON-I-am-disappoint.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1730562 No.1730562 [Reply] [Original]

>Wrote a novel.
>Was aware of it's amateurish nature and excessive Bret Easton Ellis influence, however I was invigorated by my small accomplishment.
>Dropped out of school to write a second novel ("Fuck it, now or never," was my meager defense).
>Three years later:
>Still living with my parents.
>Handful of rejection slips from The New Yorker, Ploughshares, Atlantic Monthly, etc. for short stories I coughed up in my downtime.
>Second novel remains unfinished.
>My promotion at Savers to floor manager this afternoon was more of an insult than a reward.
>Turns out I'm actually a pretty bad writer.
>my dad's face when we all realized I count as a failed writer now.

I should have listened to Bukowski.

>> No.1730570
File: 38 KB, 250x461, 250px-Yeshaye-Leibowits.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Oh well. I'm a college drop out too. I know that feel.

>> No.1730571

hi. do you <3 your parents?

>> No.1730576

>>1730571
My father can be kind of a dick sometimes but I really have to give them credit for putting up with me since I dropped out.

>> No.1730581

i've always been afraid of this. but this year i'm in the last year of an honours degree so if i drop out they'll just give me a regular degree instead. but then again, an undergraduate in psychology isn't worth shit; it's like an arts degree but you're uncreative. oh well we've gotta die eventually right - can't worry for too long.

>> No.1730583

dude you do know the majority of writers take years to get anywhere

for every mary shelley there's writers who spend half their lives writing before they get anywhere

be proud you can produce anything and improve

>> No.1730587