[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 81 KB, 900x750, C7A642E5-9E57-4FEE-A91A-5C926E4C5038.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
17025887 No.17025887 [Reply] [Original]

where should I start? Secondary lit? Earlier thinkers? Being and Time filtered me two years ago and I want to try again.

>> No.17025898

>>17025887
For his own works, start with What is Philosophy?

But as for secondary or before-reading, he's very much exit-tier so save him for a while later if you haven't read the Greeks and Germans and aren't just generally very well educated.

>> No.17025918

>>17025898
I was a philosophy major in undergrad so I’ve read a lot of the above, though not with any incredible depth (except Plato and Aristotle). Should I still save him?

>> No.17026154

>>17025887
Don't waste your time reading him. Or maybe you want an example of what not to do in philosophy. In that case read him and rephrase in your words the statements he makes; to study the content of his writings more easily.

>> No.17026862

>>17025918
Yeah probs, I mean definitely familiarise yourself with him and read some of his works, as I said What is Philosophy? but reading the opening section to Being and Time could also be helpful, but save tackling his whole philosophy for when you've studied at least Kant (since you've already done so with Kant and Aristotle) and are familiar with all of his influences and the history of Western phil, art and pretty much history itself; and then contrasted with the East at least a tad.

Just some advice, at the end of the day it's your choice and there is always something fun and utterly combustible in a very joyful way when getting into something you're utterly unprepared for.. they do call him the final boss you know.

>> No.17026912

>>17026154
Moron

>> No.17027030

>>17026912