[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 128 KB, 500x375, fredom..jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1692922 No.1692922 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /lit/. From a philosophical, economic and political standpoint, what is freedom? Why is it important or not? And the important one, can everyone have freedom? As a student I want to write an essay about it. But freedom seems like a utopia that you cant reach. If everyone is free, you can do what ever you want. But then others will use their freedom to oppress others, and steal away others freedom, making them un-free.
What is freedom to you, and how can we assure that everyone is free?

>> No.1692928
File: 37 KB, 282x475, 74642.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>If everyone is free, you can do what ever you want. But then others will use their freedom to oppress others, and steal away others freedom, making them un-free.

http://avaxhome.ws/ebooks/marx_very_short_introduction-1289506965.html

>> No.1692935

>>1692928
Yeah, Liberalism is the fox's freedom in a poultry yard.
As Marx said (or something very similar).

>> No.1693061

Freedom is asking other people to tell you what to think.

do yr own hmwrk, fgt

>> No.1693068

Freedom is often confused with the more contentious "free-will"..Free-will indicates the ability to choose or act without mediation by a administrative/supernatural power. Freedom is a subjective experience which can be achieved through the realization of free-will, but doesn't have to be achieved this way..the freedom of a masochist, for instance, is undeniable.

>> No.1693072

>>1693068
"the freedom of a masochist is undeniable"

Explain this statement.

>> No.1693092

>>1693072