[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 28 KB, 417x630, 9780393337648_p0_v4_s1200x630.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
15194446 No.15194446 [Reply] [Original]

Did anyone here do economics in college? Does it live up to the euphoria of reading about the subject as a layperson?

>> No.15194457

No cuz that shit’s gay and can be reduced down to just a small branch of piss-poor Sociology that requires a bit of Calculus

>> No.15194494

>>15194446
Hi, I majored in Econ (class of 2013)

Before studying econ I wound up taking some surface level classes at community college and reading a book called "Freakonomics."

In short, the book laid the groundwork for a lot of what I would decide is the more important aspect of Economics- the math and social aspect of it. Unfortunately, most people who discuss "pop econ" approach it from a political perspective which makes it drier and more boring than the broad applications it's actually capable of. See, it's too politicized nowadays to actually do very much interesting stuff with it because single-minded retards are going to use any application of it to apply to their agenda.

In short, try to avoid macro-based books and focus on the statistical/mathematical angle and you will enjoy most of the books. If you are political and want to pick up and econ book to support whatever ideology you have you're interested in the wrong school of economics.

>> No.15194629

>>15194494