[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 59 KB, 1000x1527, Page_004_(Faust,_1925).png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1369814 No.1369814 [Reply] [Original]

Hi /lit/; this is my first time here!

Anyway; I'm trying to write a musical; and I'm not really sure how I should tackle it.
Do you have any tips/guidelines?

Should I write the book and then see where I can fit in music?
Do I plot it all out first?
Pic related- I'm adapting Faust; I want to make it a dramedy

I also want to have alot of flexibility as far as what actors can play what, but that's a whole other animal.

>> No.1369824

Just write a regular play, and tell everyone to sing their lines.

>> No.1369832

>>1369824

>> No.1369840

Subtly rip off this.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03cW5S2XI1A

>> No.1369862

>>1369824
Any guides for that?
I have an outline, I'm just wary of actually writing out the dialouge and everything.

I'm still going to write the music; but I want music to advance the story, this isn't to be a play with music.

>>13698040
When I can use flash I will look that up; thanks.

Is there a way I can make sure it's "good"?
As previously mentioned, I have an outline and I sketched out the leads desires/goals and purpose.
I'm just not certain how I should procede.

>> No.1369869

Study your favourite musicals and find out what makes them tick.

I.e. Rent - What makes Rent work so well? Why has it established a cult following? Why does it bring out such deep emotions from the audience?

Spring Awakening - How can the adaptation of a German play from 100 years ago work so well?