[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 443 KB, 800x1182, 1562330413890.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
13416161 No.13416161 [Reply] [Original]

I would like recommendations for books about regret.

I feel that I have built my life up to nothing. I have a useless college degree in which I have lost all interest, and I have no serious plans as to how to get out of it, how to break into another field; it seems that every escape available is another mediocrity, and that even if I viciously fought to the top of my field any reward for that effort would be mediocre: king of the shit heap. I am friendless and isolated. I have lost all passion or excitement...at this point I read only out of habit. I often have little urge to even eat. The only thing really motivating me is the knowledge that if I let go everything will be worse. If I gave up, Iwould then be jobless, and then homeless, and then hopeless, immense efforts then necessary even to reacquire mediocrity, and the only other escape just submission to oblivion.

I feel that I have been lied to all my life about how the world works, or else I simply have not listened. The only thing in all the world I have going for me is that I happen to be articulate.

>> No.13416329
File: 19 KB, 220x310, 220px-Søren_Kierkegaard_(1813-1855)_-_(cropped).jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>13416161
Here are some quotes that have helped me