[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 318 KB, 500x500, 12844597997387.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1218924 No.1218924 [Reply] [Original]

There's a huge gap in my knowledge of the world when it comes to history. I have some superficial knowledge of the history of mathematics, science, philosophy etc. but in terms of world events, wars, history of different cultures and those sorts of things, I have the superficialest of superficial knowledge. I'm even profoundly ignorant of the happenings of the 20th century.

How do I fill this gap? Are there any good all-encompassing "History of the 20th century" or "History of the World" books that can give me a good vague idea? I'm from the UK - are there any good books you've read on the history of Britain, for example? I guess that would be a good place to start.

>> No.1218926

hitler did 9/11

>> No.1219134

bump

>> No.1219140

Obama did the holocaust

>> No.1219145

People shy away from writing comprehensive history. You could get an encyclopaedia of world history (Times probably have one).
Alternatively just read popular history. They're actually some of the best books available. Currently reading a history of Prussia, it's good.

>> No.1219160

There is a book written by the first prime minister of India, Jawarhalal Nehru, called Glimpses of World History, that encompasses a lot of global history. It is quite expensive though. I think it is usually around 50 pounds but you could probably find it cheaper somewhere. I would particularly recommend it because it is a non-eurocentric account of world history.

>> No.1219195

>>1218924

you should either pick an area of history,
for example anti semitism, or a nation or
peoples that interests you and find books
dealing with the specific area your interested in.