[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 1.00 MB, 1366x768, 875675675.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11961923 No.11961923 [Reply] [Original]

What is /lit/'s opinion on studying two or more languages at a time?

If one has reached an intermediate level of Spanish, for example, would it be a good idea to start with another romance language?

Would it accelerate the process of language learning, tardy it, or do nothing? Is there any readily available literature on the subject?

>> No.11962300

I'm currently studying German and French, because I'm unemployed. In my opinion it's not easy, but if you make an effort you'll succed. As a Spanish native, I don't recommend you study another romance language because maybe it will make the process more difficult.

>> No.11962344

>>11962300
I'd considered that the vocabulary and/or grammar might get mixed up in my head if I studied another romance language before I'm confident in one. Maybe I'll start German instead.

How do you study? Do you take the grammatical approach or just read and listen to lots of content?

>> No.11962378

It's perfectly fine, you don't get them mixed unless you're a real idiot.

>> No.11962424

>>11962378
But what if I am a real idiot

>> No.11962449

>>11962424
Then don't

>> No.11962482

>>11961923

I'm half assing German (which I studied on its own for a couple of years) along with Italian and Russian. It's slow going and I often find myself trying to respond to one language with another (usually German). I'd suggest sticking with one until you're...idk, a bit above the intermediate mark at least.

>> No.11962510

Well, just make sure they are different languages so you don't mix them up.
I have no issues so far with learning German at school and studying Chinese alongside in my free time.

>> No.11962652