[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 107 KB, 800x595, 1436479017243.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11827495 No.11827495 [Reply] [Original]

I got a job at a bookstore a few weeks ago and I'd like to have recommendations ready for all genres if people ask. Problem is, I've mostly only read old classics for the past few years (stuff like Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Hemingway, etc), and most people that come in aren't really looking for that sort of thing - if they wanted a old classic they could just rent it from the library or get a free ebook version from gutenburg or something. Generally people are looking more for something newer and more "accessible".

I've barely read anything that was made very recently and a lot of genres I have no experience with. So I'm asking /lit/ for help here, the only guidelines are that it's successful enough to be regularly stocked and is decently written but easy to read

so far I've been doing

>Western
Lonesome Dove
>Sci-fi
Lord of Light by Zelazny, Hyperion, Book of the New Sun if they seem experienced
>Fantasy
The Hobbit for kids, Black Company for adults
>Comedy
A Confederacy of Dunces
>Poetry
Dante's Inferno
>Military
Black Hawk Down, Goodbye to All That if they'd be interested in a WW1 biography
>General fiction
Siddhartha, Stoner if they appear serious, East of Eden/Grapes of Wrath/anything Steinbeck really