[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 21 KB, 400x311, HasASad.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1174212 No.1174212 [Reply] [Original]

/lit/, help me get excited about a career in the humanities.

I'm an English grad who's currently earning teaching certification. I decided to teach public schools for several reasons, but primarily because I want to share something I find beautiful with others and help improve literacy.

Yet, at times, the whole shebang of literary scholarship just seems so... pointless. What purpose do literary criticism and analysis serve, except perhaps as an intellectual exercise for the author? What's the point of high culture? Why strain for the "literary" when most people don't even read novels, never-mind that it's a contentious concept in the first place?

I dunno. I've just spent the last two years taking upper level college courses, sacrificing my free time and social circle, and for what? Is convincing a generation of students who grew up with the internet and iphones that there's power in the written word a lost cause?

I'm just worried I'll inevitably become a bitter old man. :(

>> No.1174217

also, this is fantastic for any other anons in a somber mood:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2INC0In9ZzY

>> No.1174218

>>1174212
WRITE MOTHERFUCKER, OR INSPIRE OTHERS TOO

>> No.1174220

western civilization isn't going to maintain itself.

>> No.1174225

>>1174220
I really wonder when western civilization will destroy itself.

>> No.1174231

>>1174217

Paul Westerberg is such a great lyricist.

>> No.1174233

I'll add, I fear becoming some harmless arbiter of "good taste." Literature is supposed to be so much more than that, but the world moves so fast I'm afraid that's all my students will hear.

>> No.1174237

>>1174233