[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 17 KB, 320x303, 6a00cdf3a54d98cb8f0110166d6c93860d-320pi.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1004512 No.1004512 [Reply] [Original]

Hello /lit/ I'm quite new to literature in general,and I want to start writing now (ideally everyday), and I want to start writing short stories, problem is I can't think of any ideas and I'm always waiting for some muse. How does /lit/ get their ideas for stories or any kind of writing? I feel like I can't practice improving because I'm hindered by writer's block and this somewhat demotivates me.

I've read how Bradbury does, using single nouns as a source of inspiration so I've heard, but that doesn't seem to work for me, what are your methods /lit/? Let's hear them.

>> No.1004519

Think of something - have an idea of some sort. Twist it around in your head - think of the implications and relations and consequences and, in general, everything connected to it. Write it down and percolate. Repeat. Combine ideas to form story.

>> No.1004527

Don't try to force your creativity. Go outside and experience life, you aren't going to find inspiration leaning over a computer staring at a blank word document.

>> No.1004542

Would keeping a journal improve your writing at all? It just seems to me like a journal forces you to spews out nonsensical ideas and too much randomness that only nurtures the habit of writing horribly, kind of like a blog.

>>1004527

Also do you record your experiences from daily life too?

>> No.1004554

Just write. Make it a point to at least write a bit every day. Thirty minutes, an hour, whatever fells comfortable. You're not going to sit down and start crackin' out novels right off.

It's kind of like exercising. As you work your brain, you find new ways to use it, and it'll get STRONGS.