[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 857 KB, 850x1493, 1270882932152.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1002679 No.1002679 [Reply] [Original]

pic unrelated

I started learning Latin a couple months ago and after about 10 hours of study I'm losing motivation. I haven't worked on it in a week or two.
Everywhere I look I see latin, It seems every where I turn I see latin and it reminds me about what I started and haven't continued.

TR;DL : Anybody else learning a foreign language? How do you stay motivated?

>> No.1002686

It's getting into a routine, I find.
Currently working on Latin, German and French

>> No.1002700

>>1002686

What learning material are you using for latin? I really wish I could afford to use and support Rosetta stone. I found a couple textbooks with answ keys at a site called textkit with a decent forum for latin and greek. Also I'm subscribed to a youtuber who has a series called "learning latin with virgil" which was my starting point.

>> No.1002710

read. reading in a different language is the best way to learn and is interesting at the same time.

>> No.1002758

I have been doing a number of languages for years now, including latin and ancient greek.

The trick, at least for me, is to do a little every day, and not a lot in one big go, say one or two words a day, that's it.

And you have to keep it relevant, learn passages from famous texts, or a few proverbs.

And yeah, Latin and Greek are everywhere - about 90% of English words come from Latin, and so also from Greek.

Keep at it.

>> No.1002794

[Spoiler]No.[/spoiler]

>> No.1002815

>about 90% of English words come from Latin

you best be trollan

>> No.1002824

>>1002758