[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/jp/ - Otaku Culture

View post   

File: 20 KB, 423x396, 1292956902595.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6769766 No.6769766 [Reply] [Original]

I'm studying the Japanese language hoping that someday in the not too distant future I'll be able to travel to Japan. I've read from many sources that Japan is a very close-knit society and doesn't take kindly to foreigners or tourists. I respect their culture, and it seems to focus a lot on politeness from what I've seen in movies, games, and online sources.

I'm going to be visiting in the next 5 years, but am worried about this rumor that they dislike Americans. I'm not a rude person by nature, but I feel that I'd inevitably do something wrong and prove that Americans are indeed: arrogant, uncultured, and rude. I don't want this to happen, so how should I act while I'm there?

You guys would make fun of me if you ever found out that I am getting Cloud's hair, but in all honesty I just want to prove to those Japs that not all Americans are ugly, and can be quite beautiful and likable. Also, I won't get the Yakuza tattoo for obvious reasons.

I'm absolutely convinced to go to Japan, so don't even tryto persuade me not to; please just help me not make an ass of myself, and Americans in general, while I'm there.

Thank you.

>> No.6769772

What the fuck is the point of this thread?

>> No.6769782

>>6769772

You know not every thread needs to have a question. unsage.

>> No.6769783

It sounds like he is inquiring proper etiquette.

Don't look anyone right in the postnumber.

>> No.6769785
File: 20 KB, 250x250, 1293980352838.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

They will laugh at you for being top level weeaboo. Even the the worst otaku people are going to laugh at the foreign ginger with cloud hair trying to be one of them.