[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/jp/ - Otaku Culture

View post   

File: 757 KB, 1500x1482, ZCDS-0001.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
34499190 No.34499190 [Reply] [Original]

I'm still relatively new to Touhou and have been slowly and steadily consuming the media, but Dolls in Pseudo-Paradise has really captivated me on several, and I wanted to ask about it.

The PC-98 games all felt very light-hearted and goofy, and while Embodiment of Scarlet Devil kept that tone mostly, this album which came alongside it just feels so completely out of left field. The story of how DiPP's story was "rediscovered" is interesting, but what exactly was meant, or rather intended by it? Did ZUN intend Gensokyo to be much more "evil youkai" focused originally? It's said that in later reprints of this album the story was cut entirely, is it because ZUN outright regrets this interpretation or just coincidental?

Early interpretations and plans for what Gensokyo, and Touhou as a whole, was meant to be just seem so fascinating to me.

>> No.34499415
File: 127 KB, 768x1024, EnZtOhjUYAAgqH_.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

ZUN should've stopped at PCB and just compose cd music instead

>> No.34499423

Based effort poster.

>> No.34500359

>>34499415
HERETIC

>> No.34502618
File: 28 KB, 259x215, 1439156287399.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>34499423
lurk more.

>> No.34503421

DiPP never quite felt like a part of Gensokyos story (at least in terms of Touhou lore) and more like ZUNs attempt at a spooky story. Like the kind you hear people telling during a camping trip.
I wonder if he was just embarassed by his early writing.

>> No.34504822

>>34503421