[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/jp/ - Otaku Culture

View post   

File: 494 KB, 2300x1225, 1574584366255.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
23169122 No.23169122 [Reply] [Original]

I've found myself with a pouch of matcha so I thought I'd drink it, but I have no tea set, no clue how to make it or what amount of tea to water to use.

Anyone with experience care to help?

>> No.23170738

>>23169122
In the future you should ask questions like these on the tea general on /ck/, you're much more likely to get responses there. As for the matcha, I have no experience preparing it without the classic utensils. I think the chawan could be easily improvised with any other bowl with similar measurements. The chasen (tea whisk) is the real problem. I can only tell you how I did it with the tools. Basically the matcha should be kept in a cool and dry place. Once you open it and it's no longer airtight, you might want to store it in the fridge and consume it within a short time period, depending on the quality. When preparing it, put a small amount in the bowl (the ratio depends on which type of matcha you want to make, and I usually eyeball it, but for a beginner try 2g to 70ml), then pour water around 80 degrees Celsius on top, and whisk it while making a Z or W shape with the whisk. It's important to not scrape the whisk on the bottom of the bowl so just slightly above. Once it looks more or less like in OP pic it's done. As for a replacement for the whisk, you'll have to find something on your own. Otherwise, if you're just curious about the taste and if it isn't extremely expensive matcha, you could try cooking some recipe on the internet like matcha cake. A word of advice, as an avid tea drinker I do not think matcha is really worth it for regular consumption. The high price and the short time period in which it is good asi