[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/jp/ - Otaku Culture

View post   

File: 679 KB, 1253x1880, ddc.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
13734176 No.13734176 [Reply] [Original]

I started playing Touhou in late 2012. First PCB, then EoSD wanting to play them in order (like it fucking matters). Played the rest until I finally picked up DDC in early 2014. The music, the playable characters, the mechanics all feel refreshing and fun. Now with the Touhou 15 demo I feel all of that all over again. And yet I hear alot of people complaining about the direction the series is taking. Moping about the days of SA and UFO.
Is it because Touhou isn't as popular as it once was? I honestly think the series is only getting better, but then again I'm a newfag. Any thoughts?

>> No.13734298

>>13734176
i'd say it's because you're a newfag. or maybe it's because most of us here are the wrong kind of newfag to enjoy the most recent touhou stuff. i and many others around here got into touhou around 2008-2009, which was just around the end of what i've heard described as a "golden age" for touhou with the funnest gameplay, most interesting characters and stories, etc. i'm thinking that a lot of us stopped caring with ten desires in particular because it started feeling really stagnant gameplay-wise and zun shifting the focus of the plot to japanese religion made it less enthralling for a western audience, even ddc going back to the old touhou kind of random unconnected incident happens type plot wasn't a good move either.
i'm actually super hyped about lolk because of actual creative new gameplay elements and a story that seems very interesting in comparison to the boring (imo) stuff that zun's been writing lately, so i think what touhou really needed was to actually move further away from the (better) older games