[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/jp/ - Otaku Culture

View post   

File: 248 KB, 480x678, 5605657_480mw.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10036286 No.10036286 [Reply] [Original]

Hey guys, recently I've been being eaten by a doubt I have regarding my attitude when playing Touhou Hisoutensoku.

Long story short, is being able to take half an hour of nearly continuous, merciless beatdown better than what most people can take? Is it the right way to get started in fighting games?

Basically, I am an absolute, absolute, absolute noob at fighting games. As in, Soku is literally the very first fighting game I've played that is more serious and complex than Super Smash Bros Melee (which I always, always used to play on Very Easy). To give yourselves an idea, on my first match against my human my "strategy" was mashing Z, X and C until my finger hurt. Therefore, in an attempt to learn to play actual fighting games and because a national fighting games champion said it is actually very simple and easy to learn, I joined a little group of Soku players.

However, since there is an absolutely abysmal disparity in fighting level between a CPU and an actual human, and even at my rock-bottom level of non-skill I can beat up the computer on Normal, I have no choice but to play against people.

For a long time I have been too afraid of getting pummeled mercilessly in the hands of a more experienced opponent (i. e. absolutely everybody else). But after one time I went with a bunch of friends who are pretty skilled at LOL and Smash, I was like OH FUCK I NEED TO BE GOOD AT SOMETHING BUT WHAT DO I DO I DON'T LIKE BEATDOWNS... WELL SHIT YOU MIFHT AS WELL ENJOY THE PAIN. And so, I immediately proceeded to call myself the group's designated punching bag and called for a match.

>> No.10036302