[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 1.18 MB, 1470x3349, 340895890e4w80934859.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6435921 No.6435921 [Reply] [Original]

Is this true? Are datasets just a static archive of images after all? If so, then that means that AI artists really aren't artists at all, because they aren't actually creating anything by prompting. That would also mean that this is a clear cut case of data laundering and copyright violation that doesn't even need a change in copyright law to be considered as such, since not only does the dataset still contain all the images that it's trained on but also only creates "new" images via interpolation. Right or wrong? What do you guys think?

>> No.6435930

I am an artist and I like ai.

>> No.6435947

>>6435921
The anon in the screencap is using pilpul to trick you into believing that. He's going "hurr everything is reduceable to math so it actually DOES contain the images" but then when the other anon takes him to task using the library of babel as an example, the original anon is dismissive and moves his position to being the opposite of what he originally claimed.

Also I love how fucking braindead people are to allow "You are a flesh automaton animated by neurotransmitters" to live rent-free in their head. It's especially ironic because that wasn't said by some AI nigger, it's from Cruelty Squad. A videogame MADE BY AN ARTIST which is more-like art than anything these anti-AI seethers have ever made and probably will ever make.

>> No.6435954

>>6435921
It’s over anon, let it go

>> No.6435957

>>6435947
>everything is reduceable to math
Because it is? How do you think that algorithms work, anon?