[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 576 KB, 531x708, 9Tod8j1.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6122532 No.6122532 [Reply] [Original]

Hi, I'm a beginner who wants to learn to draw manga/anime art. I already have an idea of where to start, but I'd just like some general feedback.

I understand that I need to study art fundamentals like 3D space, form, anatomy, proportions, perspective, etc. However, this will likely take a year of grinding or more so I have some questions.

1. Would it be a bad idea to follow tutorials like "how to draw anime eyes/hair/face" while studying the fundamentals at the same time? If I'm going to spend years mastering the fundamentals, I figure I might as well at least draw anime heads on the side even if they're very still and flat without a body just to practice the hair and eyes at least. Or would it be detrimental to the learning process because I'd potentially be practicing bad habits?

2. Do I really have to learn how to draw a full anatomically correct human figure with all of the muscles and tendons shaded and everything? I understand anime is stylized realism, but the sort of characters I'm looking to draw seem very simplistic compared to a human figure which is so full of detail. The style I'm interested in has minimal detail and little to no muscles, so I'm not sure how learning figure drawing outside of the very basics is going to help me.

That doesn't seem to be the route Japanese artists take either. From what I've seen, they just copy and copy and copy for hundreds of hours until drawing an anime character is ingrained in them, and they pick up fundamentals like proportions and 3D space through osmosis and grinding drawing, rather than grinding fundamentals.

Thank you in advance for any feedback/advice.

>> No.6122535