[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 732 KB, 866x1200, styl.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5231857 No.5231857 [Reply] [Original]

For Absolute Beginners:

tldr;
- Stop trying to copy from life.
- You have to stylize in order to make something look good (with simple line).
- Copy from other artists instead.

There's this meme that keeps going around that you have to draw from life which is absolutely terrible advice for absolute beginners.
When an absolute beginner goes to copy something from life, they will inevitably attempt to copy the resulting image in pic related.
Then they wonder why their drawings always look like shit.
It's because you are not stylizing!
You MUST stylize in order to make a drawing look good!
(The only exception is in realism and painting but I'm talking specifically to most beginners who start off with a simple pencil/pen and paper.)

You MUST copy other artist's styles and see how THEY stylize certain features of the face.
It would actually be a good idea to trace that specific drawing of a face or anything else you want to draw because your trace will determine what you are paying attention to when you try to copy that drawing.

If your tracing looks like shit, do not expect your copy to look any better.

This also made me realize that you don't study Anatomy to know how to draw something.
You study Anatomy to learn how to stylize something.

I'm sure experienced artists will try to debate this because they haven't analyzed this concept before (because they never needed to) but copy pic related. Do a copy of it without rendering or painting and using simple line.
It's inevitable that you end up stylizing.
You will always add or remove information that is or isn't there.
It's inevitable.
You HAVE to.