[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 24 KB, 500x500, sketch-book-canson-100g-m-a5_1_600.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3979663 No.3979663 [Reply] [Original]

I bought this a5 sketchbook and i would like to get some tips. I havent been drawing using a pencil or marker for a very long time so i am a beginner at this. Also i am at the stage where i cant draw anything good from imagination, still heavy copy phase. What should i draw in such a sketchbook to boost my skills and have fun with it?

>> No.3979669

>>3979663
Go to sqt/qtddtot

>> No.3979712

>>3979663
careful with your fingerprints, the oils will leave a mark when you try to shade over them.

>> No.3979736

Mistake number one was buying a sketchbook. Now you have expectations to do well, which creates stress when drawing and makes it into a chore. You should have just purchased a pack of white printer paper and a clipboard.

But that's okay. Throw your sketchbook into the dirt, step on it, spill coffee on it, and don't keep it nice. Acknowledge that these drawings won't be pretty, and don't have the expectation that you're going to post to social media for likes.

What do you want to draw? I highly recommend How to Draw Comics the Marvel Way and Anatomy for Fantasy Astists by Glenn Fabry. I rarely see the latter recommended, but I found incredibly helpful when starting out. Good instructions and cool art.

Now get to it!

>> No.3979770

>>3979663
Sketchbooks do not directly have any impact on skill. They're simply one way to organize and store your drawings. What you put in it is the most important part. For the beginning stages, I would buy a ream of cheap copy paper, as you'll have no need to story most of it.