[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 55 KB, 844x538, Dks0ioxUUAAtyS6.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3567464 No.3567464 [Reply] [Original]

I'm completely new to art and i wanna start learning but exclusively digital, are there books for noobs to learn the basics? i tried w/ic/i but it had no steps to where should i begin and which book to read before another so i am lost. I can only draw stick figures but i wanna draw like every other person and i am fully aware that i won't become good fast and i can accept that as a truth.

>> No.3567467

Buy a few pencils and some printer paper. Don't invest into anything at the moment.

>> No.3567470

>>3567464
The wiki has what you need. I also recommend starting with a pencil and paper only to establish the muscle memory for what it feels like. Digital mediums change constantly, so you'll have to retrain your muscles every time you switch to another digital medium if you start pure digital. As for resources, go to /beg/ wiki and follow the recommended path.

>> No.3567473

>>3567464
>I can only draw stick figures
Then there is no hope.
The thing is, no book or resource will help you enough, if you want to draw something else, focus on that and don't come with excuses like "I can't do this" or "I can't do that".
Want to draw trees? Go look for them and draw them.
Want to draw Cars? Go sit in a parking lot and draw them.

You have to try the things you've never done before, only then will you be able to learn.

>> No.3567478

>>3567467
>>3567470
The problem is, i find it difficult to use pencils, the grip is uncomfortable and i have a habit of pressing it hard against the paper. I prefer digital because Wacom pencils are comfortable and never break and if they do there are some backups inside the tablet.
>>3567473