[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 172 KB, 1024x768, product design sketches.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2162729 No.2162729 [Reply] [Original]

I finished my BSc in Engineering and Computer Science. I want to become a product designer (and product engineer). My plan is to visit a university for this very purpose. Tuition is not too expensive, it's not in the USA.

However they have selection criteria. Portfolio, interview, assignment, all the jazz.

I cannot draw. The assignment is being released late February. until then I should be able to draw everyday products, such as a hair dryer etc. How do I proceed to learn the skills necessary in those ~7 months available to me?

I guess the usual route of figure drawing and Loomis doesn't quite apply to the situation?

I'll have 2 hours per day on a workday as well as a large part of the weekends available.

I'd be very thankful for input.

>> No.2162734

>Rapid Viz
>Sketching The Basic/Sketching
>maybe Scotty the Hotty's How To Draw

Those books should get you okay enough-ish, if you actually practice 2 hours a day, 7 months in a row.

>> No.2162762

>>2162734
Thanks a lot, anon.

I'll monitor this thread further if there is some other input. Maybe even experiences ? Not sure how many here are product designers. Most likely not so many.

>> No.2162769

>>2162762
I have a couple infographics on product design and rendering, I'll scan them tomorrow

>> No.2162778
File: 520 KB, 2495x850, light.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>2162769
I'd be very thankful if you'd do that. Especially rendering would interest me. My drawings are rather flat.

Sharing is caring, I appreciate that you'd take the time to do this.

>> No.2162843

>>2162729
>BSc in Engineering and Computer Science. I want to become a product designer