[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 10 KB, 408x286, 1403438226308.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1878221 No.1878221 [Reply] [Original]

I just received this question on my blog in regards to commission's and copyright, and wonder if /ic/ knows how this situation works.:

>I'm kind of new to freelancing, but I've been asked to do some promotional artwork.
>The employer (understandably) wants the copyright to the artwork, and wants to know how that will affect the price.
>I'm not sure how much more I should charge for the copyrights.
>Do you have any advice for me?

As far as I know, the employer is only paying for a service of getting a picture drawn, and shouldn't need to pay for any "excess copyrighting fees" .

But then, who is to promise that the artist wouldnt just sell off the promotional piece they made as prints elsewhere?

And why does the employer want the 100% rights to the artwork he didn't make? How will someone in the employer's position confirm by law that they'll be the only ones allowed to use that painting after they make it?

This situation is confusing me too. Normally when I did commissions and the buyer says "btw i'm gonna copyright this to me, hope u dont mind :)" and then take my commission, and copyright "dicklord © 2014" on their facebook without any credit, all I needed to do was chuff it off as my art would just get sourced back to me with Google Images or whatever, and the drawing idea was downright retarded to need to be credited anyway.

>> No.1878226

>>1878221

ofcourse the rights affect the price. if you grant your client exclusive rights for the image the price is higher than if you don't. generally however, every client wants exclusive rights for the image.

>> No.1878248

>>1878226