[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 231 KB, 960x640, artschul.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1865843 No.1865843 [Reply] [Original]

People who went to art school, what was your experience with it?
Are the stereotypes true? Did you improve faster than if you were studying it independently? Would you recommend it?

>> No.1865846

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3SI2DBcOcw

>> No.1865858

I'm going to switch to a cheap art school because I started studying but ended up hating it. I don't think my parents would accept me wanting to live at home and self-study for years, so art school works as an excuse for that.

That said, from my experience with /ic/ art school threads; I'd say that art schools won't teach you a lot unless they're in the top 5 art schools in the country. Most of them are too traditional and the teachers are artists who failed.
What matters in art school is what you do and study on your own outside of the school.

>> No.1865863

Ive been going to art school for 2 years. 1st year I was studying fine art, I didn't improve at all it was all contemporary bullshit and nobody taught you anything. 2nd year I switched to illustration and I'm so glad I did. All the bad stereotypes are true for fine art subjects, avoid them like the plague. Pick a visual communication subject like animation, illustration or graphic design to get a decent education and the chance of getting a job at the end of it.

>> No.1865867

>>1865843
If you're right out of highschool and want to waste a couple of years then go for it. Personally I dropped out because they were bleeding me money, I was learning nothing, and I didn't even have free time to study on my own.

>> No.1865877

>>1865843

Went to art school, still like to draw anime.

Glad to have my own style now though.

>>1865863