[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

View post   

File: 128 KB, 1920x1200, oil-tubes-paint-wallpaper[1].jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1452870 No.1452870 [Reply] [Original]

Hello /ic/, i'm a complete beginner in both drawing, and in painting. In fact i've only ever painted a couple of times in my life, just to give you an idea of how lacking I am in experience.

Recently however, the idea ofpainting has appealed to me, and I very much would like to get proficient at it.

My medium of choice is Oil Paints, due to longer drying times, though if any of you think I should be using acrylics instead, the please say so.

Oil paintings look much richer to me, and that's why I really want to become good at making them.

Please feel free to share any tips useful information about Oil Painting in this thread, such as recommended thinners /solvents, canvas', technique, etc..

One last thing, if I am a complete novice to both drawing and painting, but eventually would like to become proficient at both, should I spend time learning gestures and construction, before painting?
(I can draw, but not at a great level.)

>> No.1452965

bump

>> No.1452976

Bump

>> No.1452989

If you're beginning to paint, use acrylic first, as its simpler and less expensive. You can always mix retardants in with your acrylics to slow the drying time, bit it's not like you'll know any of the painter's tricks that take advantage of alla prima painting, so faster drying time might be better, as you can correct yourself more frequently. Oil paints need mineral spirits to clean your brushes and linseed oil (or a hundred other mediums) for glazes and fluidity. Acrylics just need water.