[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 191 KB, 800x667, chiselsandgouges.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
864018 No.864018 [Reply] [Original]

Sup diy, I'm in the market for some decent upper-medium grade bevel-edged chisels (Ashley Iles, Stanley SW, TraditionalWoodworker, Hirsch, Two Cherries, etc) and I'm at a bit of an impasse. All of the above require some type of tuning which I'm cool with, but I'm not sure whether to go with a socket or a tang/hooped chisel.

If possible, I'd like an imperial sized set, but if the stanley/ai/tw are dogshit, I'm open to getting metric. I've also used a 20mm two cherries chisel to cut some basic dovetails and I felt like the balance was too handle-heavy for vertical chopping. I readily admit I'm a noob however, so anyone with more experience is more than welcome to convince me otherwise. I have small hands for a guy if that helps.

tl;dr:
>need chisels
>tang/socket?
>medium price (160-220 for a set)
>small hands
>profit??

>> No.864032

>>864018
What kind of chisels we talking here? Butt, lathe, carving, paring, mortise, other?

>> No.864058
File: 64 KB, 800x597, blue spruce.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>864032

I'm looking for general bench chisels. I've been borrowing a friend's blue marple chisels but he needs them back. Mostly I want the best set that I can afford, but I'll be using them them primarily for dovetails. It'll be my only set for now, so I don't want to get a specialized set like a butt, paring, or mortise.

pic sort of related - down the line, I'd love a set

>> No.864063

>>864058

Here's some links to the sets I'm looking at
Traditional woodworker (says firmer chisels but looks like an imperial version of the 2cherries - can't really see the cross section)