[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 562 KB, 2048x1365, 9102f250-4ee1-43d7-8087-32090ac61.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
819963 No.819963 [Reply] [Original]

I want to build a small house. I am a computer engineer and I know electrical well, I've taught myself plumbing, hvac, insulating, and carpentry.

But I have no licenses. I can apply for permits, but how solo can I go on my project (as few contractors as possible)?

I've been thinking about doing offgrid electrical, and perhaps collecting rainwater or having a well dug to keep the gubments far away.

>> No.819964

stop your fantasy right there

or talk to local architects in real life

dont sprout nonsense you obviously dont even understand

>> No.819968

>>819963
sure you taught yourself HVAC, sure you did.

>> No.819969

>>819963
licenses are required to not have your land/ home/ property removed when people want your land. Look at instances in California and Colorado, heck, look at what happens to native peoples who don't want oil pipelines on their lands.
Face it, while you can maybe build and construct your home all on your own and save lots of money doing it. You need to be officially rubber stamped and pay your taxes to be given societal protections.

>> No.819971

Do you have tons of cash and a building site in a jurisdiction which won't send the building inspector down on you with a stop-work order, followed up by a couple of bulldozers and a $50,000 bill for the service? Then go ahead do whatever you want!

But if you don't have that, you need:

>a mortgage
>a series of inspections: foundation, framing, plumbing, electrical, final
>permits

If you want one of those things, you need all of them. Do what the other anon said, talk to an architect and your municipal planning office.

>> No.819972

>>819964