[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 46 KB, 625x469, 1312646931_236835734_1-Pictures-of--Kramer-Focu-Electric-Guitar-VT-211s-Floyd-Rose.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
78761 No.78761 [Reply] [Original]

Calling all guitarists of /diy/!

So, here's the story. Got the news the other day that my band got into the campus Battle of the Bands event that's happening on the 13th of January. Last exam is on the 15th of December, which essentially gives me about a month of free time.

My guitar is an indonesian strat copy, (not the one pictured, but the same model and color) and after a few years of owning it, I feel it looks a bit plain.

Does anybody have any visual mod ideas? I'm all ears. The setbacks, however, are that I'm an unemployed university student, and therefore poor.

Cheers!

>> No.78783

Hot stuff, love strats. Fortunately, everyone makes strat parts, and for cheap.

Change the pickguard to black, keep the white pickup covers, or go with some solid ones, make it look like the Gilmour strat.

guitarfetish.com

>> No.78831
File: 28 KB, 448x336, gmc20.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

If you want to bet the baddest motherfucker in the place, do some swirly paint. like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1cY4LXZqX-w

There's a lot of different stuff you can do with it. Practice it on other stuff though, so that you can get it just right for your guitar.
It will be sick!

>> No.78894
File: 95 KB, 615x461, swirled ibanez rg 470 resized.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

I swirled mine. And about a week ago i installed red leds under the pickups that are switched on by a micro detect swich on the output jack

>> No.78898

>>78783

This. The all black body with the maple fretboard will look like sex.

>> No.78978