[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 2.67 MB, 3216x2144, glass_things2.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
76656 No.76656 [Reply] [Original]

Alright, self-taught miniature glass blower here, one of my favorite things to make are these vials, pic related.

I'm also a science guy so I fill them with unusual and interesting things, like ferric oxide so you can make magnetic field forms in them, or glowing powder so you can find them in the dark for hours. I bought the corks and eye hooks bulk from china so they're fairly cheap.

Trying to sell them and make enough cash to keep doing what I love, any tips for what to put in them/other stuff to make them better?

Also, email field if you want one for yourself. Prices are negotiable.

>> No.76659

That's pretty damn cool. How did you start?

>> No.76661

>>76659

Well my dad's wanted to make neon signs since he was a kid, so we did some research, bought about $50 of glass, and I found that neon signs are incredibly difficult, but these aren't so bad after a few month's practice, so now this is all I do. I'm still using a large plumbing torch, someday maybe I'll make bigger stuff if I can get/make a bigger torch....

>> No.76666
File: 2.06 MB, 3216x2144, P1090249.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

moar pics.

>> No.76667

Do you lampwork them?

>> No.76668
File: 2.12 MB, 3216x2144, P1090253.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>76667

Yep. Start from 6 mm tube.

>> No.76670

>>76668
I should give this a try.

>> No.76672

I imagine you use soda lime glass? Or do you use borosilicate?

>> No.76680
File: 2.26 MB, 3216x2144, P1090247.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>76672

Borosilicate, don't have to anneal it for stuff this small, and it's stronger.

>> No.76682

>>76680