[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 56 KB, 469x500, soWANT.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
74993 No.74993 [Reply] [Original]

Sup /diy/

I want to learn woodworking as a hobby. How should I accomplish this? The googles have done nothing for me. I found one school located an hour away from me that could teach me how to be a carpenter for a profession. Naturally this is crazy expensive. I don't need a profession, I just want to learn how to build shit without killing myself.

I also don't have a place to build shit. I could clear out the basement, but I'm sorta iffy on clearing out the area and setting up a workshop when I'm just starting out.

Wat do?

>> No.74997

Start by choosing something to build. Look to build it with as little materials/tools as physically possible. Complete, and move on to the next project.

You'll slowly accumulate the skills and tools necessary but without breaking the budget/fun on the first go around.

That is how most people got started.

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a family members woodshop and learned a lot of the basics just by watching. You can do the same by watching the New Yankee Workshop (Norm Abram is God), Ask This Old House, Woodsmith Shop, etc.

>> No.75002

What tools are an absolute necessity? Even though I technically have a lot of tools in the house, my grandparents never took care of them, so everything that doesn't belong to me is essentially a rusted POS. I have a small hammer, two screwdrivers, and a dremel stylus that I use at work for taking down dog nails.

What else does an absolute beginner need?

>> No.75005