[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 176 KB, 999x892, ohm op.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
708779 No.708779 [Reply] [Original]

Old thread:
>>698995

>I'm new to electronics, where do I get started?

There are several good books that are commonly recommended for beginners and those wanting to learn more. There are also plenty of good Youtube channels that teach about the basics as well as advanced concepts. The best way to get involved in electronics is just to make stuff. Don't be afraid to get your hands dirty. Take something apart or build something you find cool on one of the many electronics websites.

>What books are there?

Beginner:

Getting Started in Electronics by Forrest Mims III
Make: Electronics by Charles Platt
How to Diagnose and Fix Everything Electronic by Michael Jay Greier

Intermediate:

All New Electronics Self-Teaching Guide by Harry Kybett, Earl Boysen
Practical Electronics for Inventors by Paul Scherz and Simon Monk

Advanced:

The Art of Electronics by Paul Horowitz

>What Youtube channels are there?

https://www.youtube.com/user/EEVblog
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChturLXwYxwTOf_5krs0qvA
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCosnWgi3eorc1klEQ8pIgJQ
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChtY6O8Ahw2cz05PS2GhUbg
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1rxMIOt82ieNE19w15U5YQ

>What websites feature electronics projects? Where can I get ideas for projects?

https://www.adafruit.com/
http://www.instructables.com/tag/type-id/category-technology/
http://makezine.com/category/electronics/

>Where do I get components and lab equipment from?

http://www.jameco.com/
https://www.sparkfun.com/
http://www.ramseyelectronics.com/
http://www.allelectronics.com/
http://futurlec.com/
http://www.ladyada.net/library/procure/hobbyist.html
http://www.mouser.com