[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 1.18 MB, 2048x1536, 20140831_195344.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
690267 No.690267 [Reply] [Original]

Hey.
for some time i wanted to build a tube amp.
I've been messing with it for a while, but i wanted to have some results before posting.

I'm an electronics technician, but i have little experience with tubes or audio for that matter.
After having my attempt at a Daisycutter shelved for a solid two months, i got it out again.

I was having some crazy oscillations last time and i didn't know here to start.
Not having a scope at my residence didn't help.
I figured I'd just remove the tonestack and see, i had a hunch i messed that up somehow.
Sure enough, it worked. a lot of hum though.
No shielding what-so-ever and the heatersupply runs right by the input, still a prototype i suppose.

I'm not really knowledgeable when it comes to guitar, tone or amps. but i like what I'm hearing so far.
I'll get some of my guitar friends to check it out later.

the parts is whatever i had from my failed marantz7c build, components from work and of course,Ebay.
Nothing was chosen for tonal quality.

tubes: 2x Chinese nobrand 7ax12's. just reads: 7ax12 china.
2x russian NOS 6p14p with CCCP branding.

Powertransformer: Toroidal 55W supply. Hugely overdimensioned for a marantz preamp. still over overdimensioned for an 18W daisycutter.

output transformer: OUTPUT TRANSFORMER 22W 6600 CT.
the ebay listing mentioned fender but it looks brandless.

the rest is vishey polyester film caps and resistors of different origins, sockets and screwterminals ect. from ebay.

I'm powering it through a fusebox I built with 2x 5A automatic fuses, for projects involving mains.
when I'm done it will have the regular glassfuse, obviously.