[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 599 KB, 1920x1080, 1372505064067.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
625957 No.625957 [Reply] [Original]

Ok guys,

About to buy a small house with my lady friend. The roof, foundation, septic and well are in good shape. Ive been working construction for about 12 years. going to gut it and re insulate and sheetrock, possibly some framing but want to know of any awesome ideas you guys have (random outlet locations, wallsafe plans) ect. Anything that would make the house more fun.

>> No.625990

Styrofoam insulation, hardybacker backing all sheetrock, it helps insulation and mold also helps locate undesirables at the party, look for the guy complaining of a broken fist.

>> No.626002

If you're going to rip out the drywall anyways, I suggest going completely mental with outlets. They are cheap and easy to put in at this stage.
Pretend there is no such thing as extension cords.
Also, one in a closet or cabinet is sometimes useful.

>> No.626004

>>625957
if you have an attic.. and a garage. Make a ramp that pulls down from the roof inside the garage, buy some shifter gokarts. put them in there for storage [remember to drain the fluids or have proper ventilation.] also what state? assuming you're American.

>> No.626086

>>625957
>with my lady friend
Are you married?

If not, draft a contract spelling out the exact ownership percentages, obligations for paying mortgage, mandatory sale or buyout if either party leaves the house, how the house will be valued at time of sale/buyout, what to do if the house equity is zero or negative at time of sale . . . holy fuck.

It's a really shitty idea to lock yourself into property with a second person if you are not joyfully long-term married. I would call it a certain path to suicidal misery.