[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 136 KB, 979x577, jOB.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
594940 No.594940 [Reply] [Original]

Hi /diy/,

So I have taken so much from this section of the chan without giving very little back. Now is my chance to give something back to this community.

I currently work in the mining, oil and gas sector as a communications technician. I am here to answer any of your questions, no matter how silly you may think they are, about communications.

Pic related.

>> No.594945

What kind of comms?

HF, VHF, UHF, or microwave?

Or hardline stuff?

>> No.594948

>>594945
All man. I currently run Microwave data and ROIP links in conjunction with solar repeater trailers at the site I am working at.

I have worked with tetra, DMR, Analogue, lots more.

>> No.594950

>>594948
You should hook me up with some 1/2" Heliax with type-N connectors. I'm in Michigan.

Not gonna lie, I'm almost exclusively a Yaesu / Vertex guy.

Extreme low band stuff is my favorite. I'm really excited that the United States may be opening up 600meter band to amateurs (~500 khz)!

Microwave is really interesting to me, but the circuit design is really unforgiving, and commercial equipment isn't really cheaply available as surplus yet. I would love to see more experimentation on 5 ghz+.

Primaries:
Yaesu FT101EE - HF
Yaesu FT2600m - VHF-FM
Vertex FTL-7011 - UHF-FM

Handhelds:
Yaesu FT270r
Baofeng UV8r
Puxing PX888 (I have a couple programmed for FRS/GMRS...lol)

>> No.594960

>>594950
HAHAHA, do you know a guy called Peter Brennan?. He is the Vertex guy for Australia. Really nice bloke.

Yaesu, havnt really dealt with this stuff to be honest. I know they do offer dual band likeBaofeng though.