[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 35 KB, 520x255, 3588130_f520.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
435657 No.435657 [Reply] [Original]

Well, I've taken the time to start making some chainmail. Going with a basic 4 in 1 pattern. I've had a fairly good start so far. I'm just wondering if anyone has any tips for a complete newbie? Good ways to coil wire? Anything is greatly appreciated.

>> No.435663

make a coiling jib for hand cranking - pretty much a straight rod with a handle on the end.

using a power drill will save you 10 seconds, but when the moment comes that you get distracted, you stop thinking or whatever, a hand crank is'nt going to try to rip your finger off.
its really not worth the risk, for the energy or time saved.

>> No.435674

theringlord.com

Best website to buy rings from.

>> No.435677

>>435657
i am making chainmail using the 4x1 pattern also, i find it is easier to make a bunch of the 4x1's and make rows. then attach the rows together till you have the desired length/width

>> No.435722

>>435663
+1 for hand cranking. Drill a hole in a metal rod, make something that can hold it, and silently make those rings. I wear gloves when coiling because I run it through my hand as it leaves the spool to keep the tension up as it feeds into the rod. If I have a big project, I'll spend a day just pumping out coils... nothing worse than running out of rings and needing to make some from wire on the fly.
Oh! Also!
I like to keep a box of pre-closed rings and a box of open rings. For me it saves assloads of time with any euro pattern.

>> No.436289