[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 76 KB, 266x266, 528674_479984682034519_1222890852_n.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
323717 No.323717 [Reply] [Original]

I'm sure I'm going to get my dick kicked in for this one but here goes.

I'm a model maker (Plastic, milliput, glue and paint) and I would really like to try installing some LEDs in models. Nothing fancy just push button/plug in and it works. The problem is I have zero experience with wiring or anything of the kind.

Does any one have a simple tutorial for setting up a LED? I mean "Buy LED + battery, push together" simple? I've tried looking up a few and they all want to explain the science behind it (which is great, but not what I'm looking for), when I just want to purchase exactly what I need, put it inside a plastic shell and push a button/push a plug in.

>> No.323721

- A button or a switch
- A battery
- Some wire
- A LED
- Some kind of resitor to prevent overload, I guess. I'm not very good with electronics either.

You know how to solder it already? That's most of it then. Someone else might want to tell more about the resistor part though...

>> No.323724

http://led.linear1.org/1led.wiz

This shows the basic connection and calculates the resistor value. Cut the wire at any convenient position and insert switch there.

>> No.323742
File: 4 KB, 464x279, diode.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Here you go OP

>> No.323744

Here's an example:
-you want to power a LED with 9V battery (V)

-the LED has a maximum current of 25mA, so we'll use 20mA (If)
-the LED has a forward Voltage drop of 2V (Vf)

Vr = V - Vf
Vr = 9V - 2V
Vr = 7V this means that the resister needs to drop 7V

R = Vr / If (ohms law)
R = 7V / 0.02A
R = 350 ohms

Answer: use a 330ohm or a 470 ohm resister