[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 9 KB, 300x300, resist.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
30823 No.30823 [Reply] [Original]

Greetings Makers. I am an avid maker and student of electrical engineering. I just thought I would drop by to try to answer any EE questions that may be plaguing your projects or minds. Any other guru's out there feel free to jump in as well. Only limit is that I will not design your project for you, nor will I fully address questions that require a 3 hour lecture to understand. Will be on for at least an hour.

"No excuses, just make something."

>> No.30841

In the mean time, I will discuss a few things of interest. One of which is the new Kinetis Cortex microcontrollers from freescale semiconductor. Some of these models come with onboard usb and lcd driver support, and high clock speeds into the 100mhz range. I don't know if anyone else has seen or heard of these, but they look like they will be exciting to work with.

>> No.30855

All of the cortex MC's are 32-bit, and many of them have onboard 16-bit ADC's. The only thing that bugs me about them, is that they are not being very upfront about how we are going to have to program these. Chances are, you will have to have a specific programmer for these, but they provide a lot of horsepower and could be used in a lot of projects where an arduino or pic is simply not powerful enough.

>> No.30856

design me a diy dragon dildo

>> No.30860

How many volts does it take to power an off-shore oil rig?

>> No.30862

>>30855
Speaking of which, I was just looking into:
http://www.st.com/internet/evalboard/product/252419.jsp

>> No.30864

What do electrical engineers like you actually do? i don't mean it in a bad way but what do you do on a day to day basis and what do you work on/build/design?