[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 5 KB, 158x150, switch.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
281110 No.281110 [Reply] [Original]

So I have a switch kinda like this pic.

I'm new to this and I'm trying to find a way to make it turn on and off an LED using the power of a couple small batteries. Have some resistors and wire laying around too.

>> No.281136
File: 29 KB, 482x800, 1343165768699.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>281110

circuit goes:

battery (+ terminal) -> switch in -> switch out -> resistor (10k or close for LEDs) -> LED -> - terminal of battery

batteries would be best in a pack with wire lead outs, but you can tape the red to the + and black to the - if you're desperate for it to work. if the switch has 3 pins one is for ground, you don't exactly need it for a simple circuit like this (its usually the middle pin).

>> No.281138

>>281136
It has 4, which is whats confusing me.

>> No.281139

Basically what you want to do is this:

Attach the 2 small batteries end to end and tape them i guess (the + end touching - end on other)

Now you want 2 wires coming from the battery, one from either end. Stick these on 2 pins on the switch. I'll make a bad diagram.

<Battery +>---------o switch o
<Battery ->----------o o

So after this is done attach the resistor somehow to one of the 2 remaining pins (if there are 4) and then wire up the LED with one side on the resistor and one side on the remaining pin. There will be a flat part on the LED for ground (negative) so make sure that side goes up with the negative side of the battery. (the pin adjacent)

Hope this helps. It's not too hard and im shit at explaining

>> No.281144
File: 5 KB, 236x241, switchone[1].jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>281138