[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 25 KB, 276x311, stg600.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
257097 No.257097 [Reply] [Original]

So /diy/ I'm an electrician so I end up with a lot of scrap wire. I've usually sold it insulated but I've recently found out about wire granulators, problem is they're 20K.
SO, I come to you. Any idea where to start? I'm looking up patents when I get to a computer.

>> No.257111

A simple explanation of how they work.
To be honest with you devo, I had no idea what a hammer mill was until HVP made that comment. Googled it this morning and it seems to be similar. The wire enters the granulator where it is chopped (granulated) in a scissor action between 2 fixed sets of blades and 5 rotating sets. There is a screen beneath the granulator that can be changed out to maximize efficiency based on input material (2mm - 8mm). From the search I performed, this seems to be the extent of the hammer mill. The granulator however has several other components. From this point, the granules are sucked into a vortex and the copper that has seperated from the insulation is dropped into a collection area and the insulation is blown into a filter system and collected in bags. The material that is not seperated in the granulator is then taken into a pulverizer where the granules are beat with a paddle like turbo system. This will seperate any insulation from the remaining material. This material is then taken into another vortex where copper is seperated from insulation. Resulting material is dropped onto a seperation table from there where copper (or aluminum) is drawn up the table to the front and insulation is taken out the back.

http://www.scrapmetalforum.com/tools-equipment/4168-copper-wire-granulator.html

>> No.257134