[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 440 KB, 519x650, изображение_2022-10-22_181756452.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2488439 No.2488439 [Reply] [Original]

I had to leave my homeland for an unknown number of years, possibly forever. I had a woodworking shop of 4 years back home (with dreams of making old-timey musical instruments one day), but now it's pretty much gone, moving it is a lost cause. I'm now destined to move from a rented apartment to a rented apartment and possibly change countries, and I don't know how many years would pass until I'm able to settle and buy property somewhere. I'm a programmer, so I want the hobby to be physical and not related to computers at all, I'm tired of them.
Any recommendations besides knitting? I thought about pencil drawing but I suck at it, and not sure if I need to have talent for that. The hobby must be compact enough to travel with me on a plane and in a taxi between apartments, and widespread enough for the materials and tools to be available across Central Asia.
Sorry if this is the wrong board to ask.

>> No.2488446

>>2488439
Harmonica. Fits in your pocket.

>> No.2488450

>>2488439
To expand on harmonica, adam gussow, jason ricci, and ronnie shellist have a ton of instructional videos on how to play on diatonic harmonica. If you go for chromatic then it's really just like playing a piano. Doesn't need a whole lot of tricks.

>> No.2488451

>>2488446
Might get kicked out of a rented apartment for noise. In the last two apartments where I lived I could hear people talk behind the walls (also yell like crazy at kids doing their homework). But I guess I could try and find some secluded place outside and try there. I have a Hohner Special 20 at home, hadn't had much luck with it before when I tried to learn though.