[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 69 KB, 1200x1200, 00996_W3.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2470738 No.2470738 [Reply] [Original]

I have a bunch of 1 ton haulmaster chain hoists that need to be upkept and maintained, some need repairs. I'd rather not go back to harbor frieght and replace them all. How do I find them or simply maintain them and keep everything in working order.

I habe one chain hoist that releases the weight it's holding and drops it, another whose chain keeps falling off and one who's drivewheel is bent, leaning away from the chain hoist. I'm thinking for the one that's falling that it just needs lithium grease.

>> No.2470739

>>2470738
*how do I fix them, not find them

>> No.2470751

>>2470738
If you can't find who the OEM is it makes most sense to tear the malfunctioning hoists down and inspect for wear to learn what wears or runs low on lube. I'd at least tear down the one you know is fucked and keep it as an organ donor.

If safety is critical and you live in the US or Canuckistan just replace them so if someone dies no questions come your way.

Better chain hoists one can get parts for exist but your company is likely better off disposing of any bad ones, if practical into your truck. (I've done some epic scrounging of many thousands of dollars of material by asking for and getting permission.)

>> No.2470759

>>2470751
Disposal is not an option, they need to get repaired

>> No.2470763

>>2470759
>buys the cheapest chinkshit
>must maintain it into perpetuity
Good luck.

>> No.2470767

>>2470759
>they need to get repaired

If you can't repair them will you be killed? What country do you live in where fixing disposable crap you may be personally liable for looks like a good idea?